Links I liked this Week

Over the weekend I’ll write up something about my trip to a refugee camp this week. Until then, you’re stuck with this:

1. B.C. landscaper finds out he’s the king of a tribe in Ghana. I assumed this was from the Onion when it came up on my newsfeed. Nope.

“For me to be an icon, people should look up to me, I think that it’s a big responsibility for me, but I’m grateful for that because it’s preparing me to be a mature man,”

See this, too, because apparently this isn’t as odd as I had assumed.

2. Controversy surrounds Zimbabwe’s “Ugliest Man” Contest.
You didn’t think it could weirder….it did.

“Masvinu and his supporters mobbed the judges upon hearing their decision, claiming that Sere was “too handsome” to win and his ugliness wasn’t natural since it was based on missing teeth.”

Zimbabwe Mr Ugly

3. Surname Sharing Among Coauthor Economists, by Goodman, Goodman, Goodman, and Goodman.’nuff said.12.jpg

4. Are social skills more important than math skills for career success? Or, ‘Why your job is more like Preschool’. Interesting reading, fun to play with the data a bit.

12The verdict is, unsurprisingly, “both are important”.

 

2 thoughts on “Links I liked this Week

  1. The common surnames among economists made me think of a building sign for either an accounting firm, or law practice with four identical surnames, seen years ago in Virginia. The new Akan king was fascinating to read. Thanks for posting — I have passed it along to friends with deep Ghanaian connections.

    Like

Leave a Reply

