A Year of Blogging!

A year ago today, I published the first post on this blog. It was about a trip to my dentist, and what I learned about development from him. I’ve written 56 posts since then.

This year, the blog has had over 3,500 views in 65 countries. Here’s what that looks like:

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 11.20.05 AM
Noble No More
started out as a school project, with the goal of telling stories that make development accessible. This has taken two directions, as I switch between personal reflections (that you all read), and political analyses (that no one reads but I like writing).

But I keep writing because I learn so much from both of these. A friend whose writing I really admire recently passed on his secret to growing as a writer: “write a lot, write often”. I’ve tried to do that as much as I can; taking what I’ve been learning and turning it into something that everyone can understand. This clicked for me last month, when I got a message from a friend I hadn’t talked to in years:

“I’m really enjoying your blog- it’s sometimes hard for me to really understand or relate to things that are happening around the world. It just seems so far away. But you have a way of bringing everything into perspective”.

I obsess over the analytics WordPress gives me, but I’m learning that the true impact of my writing is in these shared moments. I love what Oswald Chambers says:

“The author who benefits you most is not the one who tells you something you did not know before, but the one who gives expression to the truth that has been dumbly struggling in you for utterance.”

Instead of using my writing to inform or persuade, I want to be able to use it to empathize.

With that said, here’s a sneak preview of what’s ahead in the next few months:

  • The second most popular piece of last year was a collaboration with a friend. I’m hoping to feature others more in the future, asking others to be a part of the conversation.
  • One of the scholars I admire has an incredible ability to make vast amounts of information incredibly succinct. I think that’s a crucial ability in any field, so I’m planning a “Development Debates” series where I’ll try to take some of the biggest issues in development and  do my best to turn them into something digestible.
  • The class just below mine should be starting blogs of their own soon, so I’ll take a couple posts to talk about my learning process and where I find inspiration.
  • But really, this blog is for you! What would you like to see more of? Do you ideas? Would you like to write a guest post? Let me know!

And more than ever, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

